Skip to content

Free Delivery - 14 Day Returns - 12 Month Warranty - UK Based Customer Support
Reviews
By Date By Product Review Score
All Product Review Source
All 42F8075-T 42FME242S-T 47F9076-T 48FT3E242S 40F8073-T 50F8075-T 65FTE242S-T
All Trusted Reviews AV Forums What Hi Fi Home Cinema Choice Daily Mirror Expert Reviews
AVForums AVForums

Finlux 48FT3E242S-T TV Review- An impressive sub £500 all-rounder

Reviewed by AV Forums on Dec 1, 2014

What is the Finlux 48FT3E242S-T?

It’s a brand new television from the online only brand and it boasts at least a couple of new features, as far as this manufacturer is concerned. For starters, this TV sports active shutter 3D technology and whilst this isn’t going to be a great selling point for most, it will be interesting to see how the Vestel engineers have coped with the challenge. The FT3E242S-T (catchy name) is also the first Smart TV to gain access to the Opera store, and its presence will augment the existing suite of apps and features.

+ Read More Who is it aimed at?
At the minimum, it is for those interested in getting themselves a Smart TV, otherwise you could probably pick up something with similar picture performance for less. A liking for 3D would also be an advantage or the same applies and it’s not a TV for brand snobs, we guess, as Finlux are still gaining traction in the UK market.

Design & Connections
For a sub £500 television, the build quality feels very good. The trim encapsulating the ultra-narrow bezel screen is actual metal, rather than plastic, and the base-stand is also very sturdy, although it's just metal-effect. This gives the package quite a lot of weight and solidity and, all in all, it’s a very good looking TV, with no sense of it being a budget offering.

Finlux has taken the decision not to equip the 48FT with a component video input and the digital audio connection is coaxial rather than Toslink, so if you have a soundbar or other audio solution that only has the latter option, you’ll need some form of convertor. Elsewhere, it’s a more routine set of connections, including 3 HDMI inputs, 2 USB ports, a Scart connection and both wired and wireless LAN options.

Remote Control
You’re not likely to lose it, let’s put it that way. In this new world of smart controllers, the one supplied here feels positively gargantuan but that makes buttons both easy to find and press. There are dedicated buttons to take you to the Netflix and YouTube apps, next to the one for more general internet services.
You're not likely to lose this remote

Finlux Smart TV apps
You can get a fuller picture of what the native Smart TV capabilities of the Finlux TVs are by reading our dedicated review but the arrival of the 48FT3E242S-T means that’s due an update. As we said above, the Opera Store has been added, extending the choice of apps available through the platform by quite a lot. In truth, Opera – which is a middleware solution for manufacturers – hasn’t currently got much worth shouting about, over the native apps, but it’s an ever-growing platform.

You already have access to the three of the most used video streaming services, in BBC iPlayer, YouTube and Netflix and there’s an in-built web browser, Facebook and Skype apps as well. The Netflix app is currently very sluggish but we know a fix is being readied. The iPlayer app is working very well, on the other hand, and features the new interface and 30 day catch-up.

Finlux 48FT3E242S-T Picture Settings
It’s a fairly easy choice, if you value picture accuracy. Put the Finlux in to the Cinema picture mode and choose a colour temperature of Warm from the advanced settings. This will get you a lot closer than the out of box settings but you can do even better by following the steps in the Picture Perfect Guides. You could also try the settings obtained from the review sample’s calibration which, since the Finlux TVs behave quite uniformly, should get you even closer to accuracy. We certainly can’t imagine many owners shelling out half the price of the TV for a pro calibration.

Calibration
Pre-Calibration
With the settings noted above, the Finlux provided an image that had too much green and too little blue in the greyscale, which was noticeable in whiter shades but it’s still a reasonable out of box performance. Colours were actually very good with the only errors of any significance being in hue, for cyan, and saturation with blue.

Calibrated
To say the RGB Gain controls in the Finlux TV are quite basic would be an understatement. Not only do they affect greyscale performance, they also have quite dramatic effects on colours, too. For once, we actually were able to use that to our advantage and we got a greyscale that was more favourable, whilst reducing the green primary luminance error. The greyscale was far from great but at least the green tinge had gone, to be replaced by a slightly rosy look to whites.

Accurate & responsive for gamers
Input Lag
The 48FT3E242S-T scores extremely well here and you don’t need to enter the dire looking Game mode to achieve low controller latency. In the calibrated Cinema mode, we recorded a measurement of 26.3milliseconds lag, which puts it fairly close to top of the pile in terms of the TVs we’ve tested in 2014.

Finlux 48FT3E242S-T Picture Quality
We hope Finlux don’t mind us saying this but the fact this TV is using active shutter 3D technology is more exciting, for us, in terms of the 2D images. It means the panel used isn’t IPS and therefore doesn’t suffer from its contrast and black level limitations. In fact, this Finlux had very respectable black levels, measuring an averaged 0.041 cd/m2 from a chequerboard pattern. Resultantly, we got a measured contrast ratio approaching 2,500:1, which is better than we’ve seen any Finlux perform recently; it’s also at least 3 times the contrast any run-of-the mill passive 3D can produce.

It has to be said that even the minor adjustments we made to the calibration controls made a major improvement, with the out of the box performance a couple of notches below, in terms of naturalness. Once adjusted, pictures came to life and with Blu-ray sources, in particular, looked excellent and the 48FT3E242S had no problems in handling high definition film cadences. In contrast, the presentation of standard definition material wasn’t so impressive, with scaling that is somewhat soft and weaker video processing. In truth, we hardly ever watch SD these days so it’s not a problem for us.

The same could be said of 3D, on a personal level, but for anyone interested to know have Finlux have handled the leap to active shutter tech, the news is good. With the same settings in the Cinema mode we used in 2D (bar increasing the backlight level), the Finlux provided high contrast images with plenty of depth. Near-field objects, particularly white ones, showed some ghosting but the general 3D presentation was impressive. The supplied specs are light and comfortable to wear and somewhat resemble some Samsung provided but the Finlux ones have larger lenses, which is a good thing.

Once again our complaints are related to screen uniformity and although this Finlux wasn't an especially bad example of the technology, it was often quite easy to see the structure of the panel when the camera moves. It was a little better on scenes with lots of dark content but there was some liht pooling toward the corners. Neither was particularly distracting but of course we'd rather they weren't there.


ExpertReviews

Finlux 42FME242S-T review

Reviewed by Expert Reviews on Dec 1, 2014

The 42FME242S-T’s great picture quality surpasses many of its more expensive rivals

Finlux may not be as well-known as Samsung or LG when it comes to TVs, but its parent company Vestel is one of the biggest TV manufacturers in Europe. It's particularly well-known for producing great valueTV sets, and the FME242S-T is one of those TVs.

+ Read More Not only is the FME242S-T one of the cheapest 42in TVs we’ve seen in recent months, it also has one of the best screens we’ve seen for less than £500. At just £330 the FME242S-T is significantly cheaper than the smaller screen sizes of our current Best Buy winners, the Samsung H6400 and LG LB730V series, and the FME242S-T’s slim chassis even looks that of a higher-end TV. The FME242S-T’s slightly stunted plastic stand doesn’t look as elegant as similar-looking stands on certain Samsung TVs, but its tiny black bezel is pleasingly thin and it looks far more elegant than other budget TVs.

FINLUX 42FME242S-T IMAGE QUALITY
The FME242S-T’s fantastic default picture quality is one of the TV’s strongest assets, and our colour calibrator showed it was displaying a remarkable 92.6 per cent of the sRGB colour gamut at default settings. This is impressive for such a cheap TV, and is better coverage than higher-end TVs we’ve reviewed recently, such as the Toshiba L7453DB and Samsung’s H6400 series. Brightness was also good, measuring 202.6cd/m2, but black levels were a little grey, measuring 0.24cd/m2. We increased the FME242S-T’s colour accuracy to a near-perfect 99.8 per cent once we’d calibrated the screen by adjusting the RGB gain, but this had a detrimental effect on the TV’s contrast.

For example, before calibration, we measured a contrast ratio of 1,118:1, but this fell to just 605:1 after calibration. As a result, there was visibly less detail on show than its default contrast ratio, and night scenes were particularly difficult to see clearly, so we’d recommend sticking to the TV’s default settings for the best overall picture.

The rest of the FME242S-T’s picture settings are relatively basic, but we wouldn’t expect much more from a TV at this price. Along with contrast, brightness, sharpness and colour options, there’s also a power saving mode, backlight adjustment and noise reduction settings. In the Advanced menu are dynamic contrast, colour temperature, picture zoom, film mode, skin tone, colour shift and RGB gain options. The noise reduction settings helped to smooth jagged edges and a bit of blocking on standard definition content, but otherwise the picture remained largely unchanged. Text in game shows was still blurry and soft, and we also noticed a very small amount of ghosting when we increased noise reduction to High. Thankfully, HD channels looked a lot better. Text and clothing details were much more defined and we didn’t feel the need to turn on noise reduction at all.

Our Blu-ray videos looked just as sharp as the HD channels. Unsurprisingly, there’s no frame interpolation feature on the FME242S-T, but we were pleased with the FME242S-T’s image processing all the same. Fast camera pans were smooth and largely judder-free, and even heated action sequences didn’t feel too jerky or uncomfortable to watch. We were also pleased to see that Star Trek’s grain effect was still intact even when the noise reduction settings were turned on. Sadly, the FME242S-T doesn’t support 3D content, so you’ll have to stick with 2D films.
AVForums AVForums

Finlux 65FTE242S-T review

Reviewed by AV Forums on Dec 29, 2014

What is the Finlux 65FTE242S-T?

It’s a whole lot of TV for not a great deal of money, that’s what. You don’t see very many 65-inch Smart TVs at the sub £1,100 mark, even with the seasonal sales ongoing, so if it can perform something like the recently covered 48FT3E242S-T, then it promises great value. It is, in fact, more or less the same TV as that one, only the 65FTE242S-T doesn’t have any 3D capability. Let’s see if Finlux has pulled off a bargain of monster proprtions.

+ Read More Design & Connections
As you might expect, this TV is on the heavy side so please don’t attempt to get it set up on your own. As someone who has erected hundreds of TVs I thought I would have no problems but my back is still paying the price, largely owing to the weight of the base stand, which is solid metal. In fact the 65FTE242S-T boasts really good overall build quality, at this price-point. The narrow bezel design is very contemporary and the fact the stand allows for easy positioning is a bonus.

There are a good selection of inputs and outputs on-board this Finlux, including 4 HDMI and 2 USB ports. Your legacy video options are covered by Scart and Component inputs but, unusually, the digital audio connection is coaxial rather than Toslink, so if you’re soundbar or other audio solution only has the latter option, you’ll need some form of adapter.

Remote Control
This is a rather more discreet affair than we’ve recently been accustomed to which has rubberised buttons and sits in the hand in a non-fatiguing way. The keys are positioned well, with good spacing in between, and there are dedicated shortcuts to Netflix and the various internet services.

More discreet than the usual Finlux Remote

Finlux Smart TV apps
For a more in-depth look at what the Finlux Smart TV platform has to offer have a look at our dedicated review but the Opera App Store has been added to the platform since then. That extends the options beyond the native Finlux apps, although not by a great deal in all honesty as most of what is there would not generally be regarded as big hitting. Still, you get Netflix, BBC iPlayer, Facebook and YouTube apps – amongst others – which will be enough for most. As an update, the Netflix performance has improved since last we logged in to the Finlux Smart TV platform but it’s still a bit more sluggish than we’re used to from other TVs and devices.

Finlux 65FTE242S-T Picture Settings
There’s an important distinction that needs to be made here. If you’re watching from external sources, the default Natural mode is actually fairly palatable but you can do better by switching to the Cinema mode and changing the Colour Temp to ‘Warm’ in the Advanced Settings Menu. On the other hand, the inbuilt Freeview HD tuner defaults to Dynamic, which is horrific and must be avoided at all costs. For more detailed advice on TV setup you can follow our Picture Perfect Guides.

Calibration
We can’t imagine many professional calibrators will be getting calls from Finlux owners and, in this case, it would have been near pointless to get one in. That’s not to say the out of box performance was perfect, just that the available controls proved insufficient to correct the errors here.

Namely, we had too much blue energy in the greyscale, near black, and there was a very slight yellowish tinge to whites. The colour performance improved very marginally by using the standard Colour control notched down a couple of levels but the fullest greens remained a touch garish and too bright. To be fair, with lesser saturated shades of green, it looked quite a bit better and whichever way you look at it, this is a really good out of box performance. It’s just a pity Finlux doesn’t give us better calibration controls to let them see what one of their TVs could look like when properly setup.

Input Lag
After the excellent performance of the 48FT3E242S here, we expected a little better from its monstrous big brother. An input latency of 50 milliseconds, or so, isn’t ruinous to most people’s gaming ambitions but it does make a difference and the twitchiest games will be that bit harder than if you were gaming on a really responsive TV.

Finlux 65FTE242S-T Picture Quality
The first thing to say about this Finlux is that it’s very intolerant of low quality sources. We’re not exactly sure what panel they are using but it appears to have low bit depth so if the source is of even moderately questionable quality, you are likely to see blocking and colour banding (strange hues in colour transitions) effects, especially in darker scenes.

To put that in to context, a 1080p stream of Extant from Amazon, via the Fire TV, could look distinctly ropey in the blacker moments but otherwise it did look really good. A good Netflix Super HD stream, on the other hand, would definitely look better but that is still nowhere near a match for what a Blu-ray can look like on the 65FTE242S-T. This is definitely a TV for disc lovers over streaming viewers, so take that knowledge with you during the decision process. We could also monitor some of the broadcasters adaptive bitrates by watching how the Finlux performed on certain content. For instsance, it was easy to tell that the BBC had lavished plenty of bandwidth on the Strictly Come Dancing Semi-Final (viewed only for evaluation), whereas a low-profile documentary on BBC 4HD doesn’t get quite the same treatment and resultantly looked far less impressive on the Finlux.

We saw above that colour and greyscale accuracy were good at default movie settings and the pictures are helped no end by the native black levels in this panel – low bit, or not. From a chequerboard pattern we measured average black levels at 0.03cd/m2, resulting in an ANSI contrast ratio of around 3,200:1. By current standards that’s actually really good, although blacks did exhibit something of a blue tint and detail in the very darkest shadowed areas was virtually non-existent. Still, the pictures still had plenty of depth and detail with the caveat, above, that the source is good.

Give it a good source and you'll be amazed - at this price!
The motion handling of the 65TE242S is about average for the technology but the bountiful screen real estate does mean that it’s fairly easy to spot the blurring of objects if they’re travelling fast. If you’re likely to be bothered by that, Finlux does provide some optional frame interpolation processing but it was a tad aggressive for us and we definitely leave it well alone for movies. It would be unfair not to mention that this sample displayed really good screen uniformity, both on dark and light scenes, so whilst the blurring might slightly jar, it’s far more preferable than the likes of a dirty screen effect or panel banding.

If you’ve not caught on to the gist of what we’re saying about the Finlux 65FTE242S-T, pictures wise, in all that went above, we’re trying to tell you that it can look really really good, especially with price considered, but it is fussy and needs a high quality source. It probably goes without saying, but we’re duty bound, that we wouldn’t recommend watching any standard definition material on this TV, it definitely doesn’t make for pretty viewing!

Finlux 40F8073-T review

Reviewed by Trusted Reviews on 21th February 2014

What is the Finlux 40F8073-T?

The 40F8073-T is a 40-inch LCD TV with LED lighting, and as you would expect given its Finlux branding, it’s remarkably affordable: just £320 at the time of writing. This price is especially impressive considering that the set has built-in Smart TV features and a Freeview HD tuner. So what’s the catch? It turns out there aren't too many.

+ Read More

Finlux 40F8073-T

Finlux 40F8073-T: Design and Features

For the most part the 40F8073-T looks exactly like the budget TV it is. Its frame is made from a pretty uninspiring black plastic, it’s slightly wider than that of most modern flat TVs, and its only attempt at style is a little centimetre wide 'grooved' section of plastic running along the bottom edge. Even the cross-shaped silver stand looks a bit cheap.

Connectivity is fair enough for the money, though, comprising as it does three HDMIs, a D-Sub PC port, a component video input, a coaxial digital audio out, a LAN port, a Scart (yes, some people still use these!), two USBs, a headphone jack and a component video input (yes, apparently some people still use these too!).

There’s also Wi-Fi, but only if you plug in a provided USB wi-fi dongle. However, the sensitivity/receptive powers of this dongle didn’t seem the best during our tests, so you’d be advised to hardwire the Finlux 40F8073-T to your router if at all possible.

The network connections are not just there as mandatory support for the set’s integrated Freeview HD tuner. Remarkably for a £320 40-inch LCD TV they also give you access to Finlux’s Smart TV service. Not surprisingly this is pretty lightweight in content terms versus the smart platforms you get with some of the latest big-name TVs; your useful options are limited to Netflix, YouTube, BBC iPlayer, Twitter, Facebook, ITN, iConcerts, tunein.radio, accuweather, Flickr, Viewster, Joomeo, Daily Motion, Playjam, a web browser and Skype -- and the latter feature is only available if you add an optional USB camera.

Still, we’d be inclined to argue that any online content at all is a bonus on such a cheap TV, and the smart interface is quite attractive in a no-fuss kind of way. Particularly welcome is the way a reduced version of what you were watching continues to play in the corner while you browse the apps.

Aside from managing to cling to a full HD native resolution, the Finlux 40F8073-T’s screen specifications are predictably basic. It’s a 50Hz model only, with no motion processing tools. There are one or two handy tweaks tucked away in its surprisingly well presented onscreen menus, though, including a multi-tiered noise reduction circuit, an auto backlight option, a dynamic contrast system that adjusts the image’s luminance based on the content being shown, a colour temp adjustment, skin tone and colour shift ‘sliding bar’ adjusters, and even the option to tweak the gain of the red, green and blue colour elements.

The last things to note in this section are that the TV doesn’t support DLNA file streaming, but it does support playback of video, photo and music files from USB storage devices, as well as timeshifting from the tuner to USB HDD.

Finlux 40F8073-T

Finlux 40F8073-T: Set Up

The 40F8073-T is fairly straightforward to set up, partly thanks to its no-fuss and cleanly presented menus but also because the set isn’t as overburdened with features as many that come our way these days.

Among the few recommendations worth making here are that you turn the set’s eco features off, and that you reduce the contrast and sharpness settings to around their 45 and 10 levels respectively. This greatly reduces the rather noisy look to pictures you see using the set’s preset values.

As a side bar to this point, don’t feel tempted to try and fight the noise by calling in the set’s noise reduction system, for this only results in pictures looking blurred and laggy.

The final tip we’d give is that you set the backlight to its Low position for watching films in a dark room, but use the medium setting for daylight TV viewing.

AVForums AVForums

Finlux 42F8075-T review

Reviewed by AV Forums on 28th February 2014

Introduction

The last Finlux TV we had in for review was the direct predecessor to the model we have before us now.
The 40F8073-T impressed us with its all-round qualities and general signs of improvement and we're hoping the 42-inch F8075-T continues that trend. There is also a 50F8075-T and, jointly, the pair currently sit top of the Finlux range of Smart TVs.

+ Read More Like many, Finlux seems to be abandoning the notion of 3D, which we're not complaining about, and we know they will shortly have an Ultra HD model for us to assess. This TV is so new that it isn't even featured on the manufacturer's website yet, so it's down to us to deliver the nitty-gritty.

Design & Connections

The F8075T doesn't exactly buck the trend of modern-day TV design with its very narrow charcoal grey bezel and Samsung-esque four footed stand, which swivels quite generously. We've never been keen on that particular style of stand and they do look odd with either a soundbar or centre speaker placed in front but you pays yer money and you makes yer own mind up.

The 42F8075-T is considerably slimmer than the outgoing model, however, which will find favour in some quarters. The trade-off is that it only has 3 HDMI ports - against 4 for the old model - but we guess that's sufficient for most, if not us. Other connections include singular Scart and Component inputs, 2 USB and an Ethernet port. The F8075 also comes with an USB WiFi dongle - more on which later.



The slightly concave remote control has had a slight makeover but still features big and bold buttons, which makes finding the appropriate one relatively easy, although some of the icons used are hardly self-explanatory. it has a bulky feel - for good or bad - but the new dedicated keys for Netflix and YouTube are welcome additions.

Menus

The F8075-T retains the same layout and black/gold colour scheme of the previous models we've seen and, overall, we generally like it. The options load and transition with pleasing speed, although the initial scan for digital channels seemed to take an age.

The Picture Menus are unchanged from the last time we looked and include Dynamic, Natural, Cinema and Game Picture modes along with the standard font-panel Brightness, Contrast and Colour options. There are some more exotic items under the Advanced Picture Menu, including Dynamic Contrast, Film Mode and a very basic one-point white balance controls - labelled as RGB Gain – and we’ll look at the efficacy, or otherwise, of those later in the review.



Not a huge array of connected features but some vital services are present.

Features

Setting up the WiFi dongle and connection of the 42F8070-T was one of the more frustrating processes we've had to endure recently. Inserting it in to the top port on the side connection panel yielded no joy whatsoever, despite, the TV 'recognising it was present, whilst we had to fight with the advanced network settings to get it to work in the lower placed port. There is an option in there named IP Address which should have toggle from the default Dynamic configuration but doesn't, so you're basically down to potluck as to whether it is on or off. Having eventually stumbled on the right set of options, WiFi performance was reasonable from a distance of 8 metres (2 walls) although the Internet Speed Test present in the Menu also doesn't work.



Finlux has definitely spruced up the appearance of its internet hub and all the tiles are now filled with Smart TV features. The two most used Smart TV apps are covered with both YouTube and BBC iPlayer in attendance and there's a very decent Netflix app present for we streaming types. The internet browser - like most in a TV - is no great shakes but social networkers are well catered for with apps for both Facebook and Twitter. There's also a Skype app but you'll need a camera/mic peripheral to avail yourselves of that.

Test Results


Pre Calibration
It is usually the case with the Finlux TVs that a Picture Mode of Cinema together with a Colour Temp of Warm yields the most accurate out of box results. That wasn’t the case with the F8075 and we found the Cinema/Normal combo to be closest, not that it was great. There is a large excess of blue in the greyscale and gamma is tracking too ‘low’ but at least the colours were fairly close to the Rec.709 standard.



Post Calibration
The Finlux calibration controls are very basic and not especially good but we did manage to salvage a respectable greyscale performance out of the TV with Delta Errors reduced to acceptable levels, almost throughout the scale. Close to black is noticeably blue but, then again, many LED TVs have this trait and in the more noticeable areas (mid to high scale), there was a good degree of neutrality.



Colours improved further following the greyscale calibration and, as we can see from the chart top-right, both primaries and secondary’s were under the tolerable threshold of 3, in terms of dE’s. We can also see from the CIE diagram below that colours were tracking superbly at lower stimuli, which is equally – if not more – important to the performance at full saturation levels.



Contrast, Black Levels and Screen Uniformity
Whilst the numbers here don’t stack up particularly impressively, we found black levels and contrast performance to be decent for a fairly brightly lit room. An ANSI checkerboard pattern revealed average black levels of 0.109 cd/m2 against average peak white of 88.23 cd/m2, yielding an ANSI contrast of 807:1. Like we say, not a big number but the filter is very good at rejecting ambient light and, most importantly, screen uniformity was very good for a low-cost TV.



Video Processing
On paper, the F8075-T handles standard definition content quite well with little ringing evident on the SMPTE-RP133 test pattern but real-world performance was not so good. It also can’t detect a 2:2 cadence so you’ll want a player to be taking care of any scaling for those DVDs you’re harbouring. Video deinteralcing at 1080i50 wasn’t all that hot, either, and Blu-rays encoded at 1080p24 suffered from infrequent skipping although, to be fair, it wasn’t hugely noticeable. It’s clear the engineers at Vestel still have some catching up to do in this department.

Energy Consumption

Standby: 0W
The following measurements were taken with a full screen 50% white pattern:
Out-of-the-Box – Natural Mode: 48W
Calibrated – Calibrated Cinema Mode: 47W

Gaming Performance
The 42F8075-T would certainly make a decent choice for a dedicated gaming room with a relatively low latency to input of 31.5 milliseconds, which is under a frame with a game running at 30 frames per second. That was achieved in the dedicated Game Mode but the others were only a couple of milliseconds more so you could take your pick. That siad, they would take you in that next frame so it could affect you in twitch shooters or fighting games.

Processing is again patchy but screen uniformity was truly impressive.

Picture Quality

We tend to sit quite close when assessing a TVs picture quality for review but that will do you no favours with the Finlux 42F8075, as it has a very processed look when viewed from anywhere inside 6 feet. That’s probably not a major concern for most but it’s not a quality we particularly like either. Things certainly improve from a bit further out although the weak handling of standard definition content will mean you’ll need to be quite some distance away if viewing it is to be remotely palatable.

The strongest suit of the Finlux is in its very accurate colour handling and this generally shines through with the majority of content. Most aspects of the picture just look right, although the patchy greyscale tracking is evident with brightish whites and near black where the excess of blue/red – depending on Colour Temp selected – becomes very evident

Quite a processed look to images but colours are impressively accurate.

As we said above, the F8075-T isn’t possessed of strong black levels nor mighty dynamic range but the filter does well in the daytime and when the living room lights are on full beam. In low light conditions, blacks take on a greyish-blue hue and the lack of definition in the shadows becomes more evident.

Viewing angles are fairly decent for LED/LCD but motion handling is typically weak for the technology. Thankfully – and commendably – screen uniformity in this panel was excellent, however, so watching fast-paced action like sports was not a painful experience – once you’ve adjusted to the blur. We’ve had the latest and greatest 4K TVs through our doors these last few months and the Finlux had better uniformity than all but one of those. No names, no pack drill.

Video Review




whathifi.com logo

Finlux 40F8073-T review

Reviewed by What Hi Fi on 22th April 2014

A sharp, exciting picture with essential smarts – and at a terrific price

Finlux is fast becoming the go-to brand if you’re after a decent TV at a proper budget price. The 40F8073-T is another success story for the marque; just £350 buys you a fine Full HD 40in screen with smart features that include Netflix and BBC iPlayer. This is the part where we tell you what the problem is. But honestly? There isn’t one. Even the admittedly poor sound quality doesn’t deter us from appreciating how good a TV this is.

+ Read More

Picture quality





We play The Wolverine on Blu-ray and are immediately hooked by the crisp and detailed picture.

The sharp edges of metal are clearly defined without looking overdone, the textures of clothes, wood and water look refreshingly natural, and the depth of detail is impressive.

This is a talented screen. The Finlux is particularly adept at delivering deep black levels, although we wish the overall picture were a touch punchier.

There’s a nicely judged colour balance that handles CGI effects and natural scenery alike with deftness, although a touch more subtlety in shading would work wonders with big blocks of colour.

There’s a plasma-like depth to the blacks that adds drama and excitement to the picture, although this can sometimes swallow up finer details in dark scenes.

The depth is appreciated though, as it helps offset the clean white areas that need a boost of brightness.

Scenes that should be bright and sunny look slightly overcast, although this never robs the picture of its excitement or clarity. 

Turning up the brightness feels like the instinctive solution, but it only makes the picture look washed-out and turns the black levels grey.

The 40F8073-T still looks somewhat dimmed compared with rivals such as the Samsung UE40F6400, although it’s worth pointing out that the Samsung is £150 more expensive than the Finlux.

Switch to streaming or a standard-definition broadcast and the Finlux’s clear and crisp picture holds up.

There’s the inevitable dip in resolution, and hint of noise in large blocks of colours, but ultimately the Finlux delivers a confident and enjoyable picture. 

Sound quality

The only fly in the ointment is the Finlux’s sound quality.

While we’ve long stopped expecting a well-rounded, detailed and solid sound from TVs, the Finlux’s 16W stereo speakers sound particularly weak, shrill and rather shouty.

There’s barely any bass weight to the sound, and dialogue is wispy and hard to hear.

We wouldn’t let that deter you from considering the 40F8073-T, though. A budget soundbar or soundbase, such as the £200 Cambridge Audio Minx TV, will easily boost the sound quality.

Features

If you think this Finlux is going to be light on features, think again. With Netflix, BBC iPlayer, YouTube and TuneIn radio, the Finlux 40F8703-T has the essentials for catching up with the latest TV shows, watching videos and streaming radio stations.

It may not have the in-depth smart content and slick interface shown by the likes of Samsung’s impressive Smart Hub, but the Finlux is simple and easy to use.

The smart apps are laid out neatly on a single page, and they’re quick to access with the included remote control.

The buttons on the remote need some decoding – the logos for accessing the smart content, YouTube, and input selection aren’t obvious at first – but after a couple of trial-and-error moments during our test, we found the handset was a breeze to use.

Speedy response is a bonus, especially when flicking through channels on the TV guide. 

If you’re keen on surfing the net and checking social media on your TV screen, you’ll be happy to know that this Finlux offers a web browser as well Facebook and Twitter apps.

Connectivity

A stable, wired connection via the LAN port is our preferred method of network connection, but a wi-fi dongle is also included if you want to go cable-free.

There’s a good selection of connections on the back panel, with the highlights being three HDMI inputs for your sources and a Freeview HD tuner for broadcast TV.

Two USB ports and DLNA compatibility are available for playing various media files. There’s a single digital output (coaxial, not optical), and analogue connections come in the form of component and composite inputs each.

Verdict

We don’t know why we still get surprised when Finlux delivers such an invitingly sharp and detailed picture at a great budget price.

It’s racked up a great record with recent TVs, and the 40F8073-T adds to its repertoire with an immediately impressive picture quality that’s great to watch.

Sure, it has some issues with brightness and poor sound quality, but they’re issues that we can easily forgive, especially when Finlux is offering 40in-worth of smart TV for just £330.

The strengths of this screen – that crispness, the level of detail, the on-demand video services – far outweigh any shortcomings at this price. Go on Finlux, keep surprising us.


AVForums AVForums

Finlux 47F9076-T review

Reviewed by AV Forums on 26th April 2014

Introduction

Finlux are moving up in the world. They have just announced the launch of a range of 4K TVs, topping out at an asking price of around £13,000, and the smaller ones are priced similarly to competing sets from the likes of Samsung, Panasonic & Sony. That's a bold move from a brand not yet mentioned in the same breath as the big boys and we wish them well in their endeavours.

The 47F9076-T up for review here is of a mere 1080p resolution but it is their flagship Full HD TV, featuring both 3D and Smart TV technology. It is priced more modestly than the Ultra HD TVs, naturally,

+ Read More but with an online ticket price of about £900, it is by no means a budget entry. Indeed one could get a mid-tier set with comparable features for around the same cost, or less if you were willing to go end of line, from one of the more recognised brands. Again, this is a brave approach from Finlux so we best find out if it’s one that’s justified.

Design & Connections

Wow, well done Finlux, this is a very desirable looking TV so that goes some way to addressing the price tag. OK, once again, the design team may have taken some noticeable inspiration from a Korean manufacturer, or two, but the results are lovely and there will be few that could be unimpressed by the swooping base-stand, which is actually made of metal, where most of these new-fangled designs are usually plastic based. The outside and bottom of the bezel is made from plastic but doesn’t look it, whilst a micro-thin black strip frames the sides and top of the screen. It’s clear from the attention that Finlux has paid to styling this TV that they want to step away from just being considered as a budget brands.



Truly one of the nicest base-stands we've seen to date

As befitting a TV of its status, the F9706 has 4 HDMI ports, three of which are perilously close to the edge so you may need to consider angled cables or adapters to preserve the clean lines. We also get proper component and scart inputs, for legacy video equipment and there are two USB ports, also side-mounted. One of those USB inputs can be used for the included dongle which allows for wireless connection to your network, and beyond, although there is a LAN port for going wired. Finally, there are also outputs for a pair of headphones and digital audio (S/PDIF) for hooking up to a soundbar or receiver.

The remote is of a now familiar Finlux design and is slightly concave in form to make its rather large form more easy to handle. The positive side of the size is that it means buttons are large, and therefore easy to locate, but this is somewhat negated by the fact that the symbols on the buttons aren’t always easy to correlate to a function. We still haven’t worked out what one of them does and the removal of the Netflix button hasn’t gone down well with certain residents in this household.

Menus

Finlux presents its menu system in an unusual gold and black colour scheme and once the TV has gone through a few warm up routines, they respond swiftly to command. Some of the sub-menus feel a little over-filled but items are generally placed logically so they are easy enough to use. The default Picture Modes include Dynamic, Natural and Cinema, although what you’ll be presented with, as default, depends on what you’re watching. Using the TVs internal tuners, the default mode is natural whilst anything external will see the ghastly Dynamic option deployed. We would actually advise you to use neither and opt for Cinema, instead, but Natural isn’t too bad. The Picture Menu contains some advanced options, including Dynamic Contrast, Film Mode and some basic white balance controls which we’ll look at later in the review.



Default Picture Modes vary on input. Strange

Features



The 9076-T definitely has a zippier processor aboard than we’ve seen with many of the Finlux Smart TVs. Well, either that or they’ve just made the operating software more efficient, but whichever is the case, it has made using the Smart TV features more rewarding. You may not get the wide range of apps and services you do with the bigger boys but the eclectic mix includes offerings from YouTube, BBC iPlayer, Twitter, Facebook and Picassa. The Netflix app is also with the new user experience and supports individual profiles and for those that like to sample Netflix’s international catalogues, you can specify your own DNS servers in the Network settings menu.





A good selection of core Smart TV services

Test Results



Pre-Calibration
After the last Finlux TV we tested broke the mould by being most accurate out of the box, with a Picture Mode/Colour Temp combo of Cinema/Normal, it was the Cinema/Warm partnership that won out with the 9076-T. Not that it was particularly great. A large excess of green in the greyscale was all too evident in both test patterns and real world content. During run-in we actually notched down the Green Gain control in the menus as it was virtually intolerable to watch. If there’s an error you don’t want, it’s with green as it’s the most prominent colour to our eyes. Colour performance against the Rec.709 standard was considerably better with only under-illuminated red and magenta errors worth noting



Post Calibration
Finlux’s ‘white balance’ controls are dreadful. We realise that the their target audience are very unlikely to ever bother using them but surely it wouldn’t take a massive investment to at least make them two point – rather than one – to open up their potential market to include those that do care about picture fidelity. Perhaps we’re barking up the wrong tree but the controls present didn’t allow us to make huge improvements to the greyscale. We swapped a very large excess of green energy for a smaller surfeit of red energy and landed exactly back where we were with the run-in settings, bar a slightly reduced Contrast slider.



A fortuitous side-effect of the white balance controls being so bad was that they positively impacted the colour luminance issues at full saturation levels. It really shouldn’t happen but we’ll take what we can get and the F9076-T produced very impressive results both at 100% saturation, as we can see from the chart top-right, and at lesser levels, as can be noted from the CIE chart below.



Contrast, Black Levels and Screen Uniformity
The presence of passive 3D means this TV is odds on to use an LG sourced IPS panel, so black level performance was never going to be a strong point. We’ve seen much worse, to be fair, but an averaged black level, from a chequerboard pattern, of 0.123 cd/m2 isn’t exactly stellar. We got an ANSI contrast figure of just over 800:1, which is about average for this type of panel but considerably lower than we’d expect from the likes of a Samsung, for one.



If you’re watching in a bright living room environment, this probably won’t be that impactful on your enjoyment but with lights low, there’s an unmistakable ‘milky-ness’ to darker scenes. With the same sort of material we also observed several patches of uneven light, which couldn’t be mitigated by settings. Finlux does include a Dynamic Contrast setting but that’s arguably worse than the white balance controls and simply dims the life out of the whole picture rather than adjust individual portions of it. Best left alone!

A truly abysmal dimming system!

Picture Processing

Finlux (or should that be Vestel) don’t produce TVs with the highest calibre of video processing circuitry, we think it would be fair to say. You get the odd skip and a jump with Blu-ray 1080p24, video deinterlacing isn’t the best, meaning you will see some jagged lines from time to time and scaling of standard definition signals could be a bit crisper. Bar the scaling, none of those flaws are particularly noticeable with real world material, however, and nor is the lack of 2:2 cadence detection capability. In fact we expect most people reading this review will be using a Blu-ray Player – or at least a scaling player - to watch their DVDs with now so that’s probably an even more trivial factor. Still, the fact remains that Finlux needs to brush up in this area as all facets of picture performance add up, no matter how small a part they play.

Gaming Performance

You can leave the Game mode alone with the F9076-T, it has only a 0.6 of a millisecond advantage over the others and doesn’t look particularly appealing with default settings. As it was, we used Cinema and got a measurement of 31.2 milliseconds delay in response to an input. That should be lag-less enough for most. And if it isn’t, buy one of the recent Sony’s.

Energy Consumption

Standby: 0W
The following measurements were taken with a full screen 50% white pattern:

Out-of-the-Box – Natural Mode: 87W

Calibrated – Calibrated Cinema Mode: 84W

3D - Cinema Mode: 105W



Picture Quality - 2D



With the few picture-improving adjustments possible to be made complete, we settled down to some viewing. In all honesty, the F9076-T hasn’t really moved anything along in terms of producing better images than its predecessors so we still get that slightly noisy, yet digitised, quality to content viewed from within about 6 feet so we wouldn’t recommend it for close-up watching. From a more conservative distance it’s easier to appreciate the realistic colour palette and with hi-def images it can certainly look good.

We could probably say that of every TV we review, though, so we’re looking at the finer details of picture performance by which to differentiate them and there’s not really much this Finlux excels at. In fact, those previously mentioned flaws in processing only serve to undermine the colour accuracy and that excess of red in the greyscale leads to pinkish whites, which can be off-putting. We could swap that for a greeny-yellow cast but that’s even less desirable.

Picture quality just isn't there for a 47-inch £900 TV
There was also a slight dirty screen effect apparent on panning shots and the lack of decent blacks and native contrast performance means pictures very rarely pack in any dynamism or impact. The F9076-T is at its best with colourful and bright content and, to be fair, there’s quite a bit of that about but, again, this isn’t a quality exactly rare amongst LED TVs and, frankly, you could do just as well, or better, for a considerably lower sum than the F9076-T is commanding.

Picture Quality - 3D



The Finlux F9076 is a more impressive 3D TV than it is a 2D one. There are four pairs of passive specs in the box that are almost free of colour tint and comfortable to wear. We’d imagine the lenses are also large enough to fit over a ‘regular’ pair of subscription glasses, too. The inherent brightness of an LED TV means they are well suited to delivering 3D pictures and the 9076-T certainly isn’t lacking in that regard, helping it to produce 3D pictures that had plenty of pop. The inconsistencies of the backlight did it no favours with the black-heavy Gravity 3D, however, but with animated content, in particular, the lack of flicker and almost zero ghosting was very pleasing.

Home Cinema Choice

Finlux 50F8075-T review

Reviewed by Home Cinema Choice on 15th April 2014

"FINLUX'S PUBLICITY MATERIAL for the 50F8075-T quality sets that its Full HD panel offers five times the images quality of standard-definition TV footage, and boasts of offering three HDMI ports, to cope with the expected deluge of HD sources."


+ Read More Home Cinema Choice

Mirror

Finlux 40F8073-T review

Reviewed by Daily Mirror on 17th March 2014

"You might not expect a sub-£350 Smart TV to hold many surprises, but this 42-incher certainly does."


+ Read More Mirror